Facebook has been having a tough few weeks with its latest misfortunes triggered by the Cambridge Analytica data breach scandal that broke out recently. Fuel was also added to the fire when Facebook confirmed it had deleted CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages from several recipients’ inboxes on Facebook. Facebook has now confirmed it is planning to roll out an ‘Unsend’ button that will offer similar functionality to all users on the platform.
Currently, Facebook Messenger offers a Secret chat feature wherein messages can be timed to self-destruct with durations ranging from 5 seconds up to 1 day. With the new feature, however, Facebook states that the process hasn’t yet been finalized.
Other Facebook services also offer two different variations of the Unsend option. WhatsApp offers users with the ability to delete messages for a limited amount of time after the message has been sent. The message, however, will be replaced with this text – “Your message has been deleted”. On the other hand, Instagram offers users with the ability to complete unsend a DM (Direct Message) provided the recipient has not read the message or its push notification.