In the latest update to Instagram, the Facebook-owned photo sharing app will now notify you when your friends take a screenshot of their Direct Messages (DM) – very similar to how SnapChat works.

instagram_dm_1480140507048

However, reports suggest that the notifications are only for the new disappearing message feature.

How to use the new feature?

  • You swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately.

You will be able to choose a group or create one in just a few taps/clicks whilst also being able to send it to individual friends at the same time.

Instagram has released the following statement saying “Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you will see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.”

Instagram will also pop a new window when you screenshot your feed saying, “You can share this post with your friends” – giving you a few alternatives to officially share the image.